top of page

The Origins of Deaf Football Australia

On the 24th March 1978, the following representatives Paul Burrowes, Graham Home, Wendy Home, (QLD) Ron Loader, Jeff Moir, Sue Cateris, Mike Ovitt (NSW) Matthew Veale, John Walsh (VIC) met at Stanmore Deaf Club to discuss the formation of a national deaf soccer body. It was agreed at this meeting that ‘Deaf Soccer Federation of Australia’ be the governing body of deaf football in Australia and it was moved by QLD seconded by VIC that the rules and constitution be drawn up in Victoria before the end of June and dispatched to individual states for approval. 


On the 13th April 1979, it was agreed that to be a member of DSFA each state was to contribute $30.00 affiliation fee and this was to be paid one month before each Southern Cross Tournament. For the first four years the inaugural representatives decided not to elect a President, Secretary or Treasurer, but to share the duties of chairing the meeting and taking minutes of the meetings.


On 7th January 1983 an Executive committee was elected and the organisation had a President, Secretary, Treasurer, and an elected delegate from each state.
Deaf Football Australia follows the rules and guidelines of F.I.F.A., however there are specific rules and laws regarding the eligibility of national representation. If you would like to learn more, please contact the Secretary Brian Seymour via 

Executives Profile


Raymond Younan (President)

Raymond started his career in the building industry in 1980 as a Builder/Developer. Over the years Raymond has acquired Degrees and Certificates within the building industry. Raymond attained his licence in Real Estate in 2005.
Raymond is currently a community leader and the President of WADI Kannabim Charity Association. Deaf Football Australia approached Raymond to become President of the organisation because the members felt that they needed a person that was an Astute businessman with strong networks and had the communication and leadership skills to take Deaf Football Australia to a level it has never seen before.


Brian Seymour (Secretary)
Brian is a C.O.D.A. (Child of Deaf Adult).
Brian is immersed in deaf culture and has retired from refereeing where he spent over 12 years officiating across the Australian National Soccer League (NSL) as well as having spent 15 years as Treasurer and Assistant treasurer with the Australian Soccer Referees Federation (NSW Div).

The Deaf community asked Brian to take up another challenge as Secretary and help build, develop, and grow Deaf Football Australia.




James Lambert (Technical Director & Head Coach)
James has worked in football for the last 15 years, achieving the highest level of coaching qualification in Australia, the FFA (AFC) Pro Licence.

James also holds the qualification of Football Conditioning Licence focused on injury prevention and player wellbeing.

James supports coaches from around the world through various different media, working for Publisher World Class Coaching through Books and Videos (The False 9, Attacking the Barcelona Way, Attacking a Compact Defence and The Art of the Counter Attack).  James is an FFA assessor for the highest practical coaching qualification the FFA (AFC) A Licence.

Our Values and Goals

Deaf Football Australia (DFA) are the peak body for Deaf and Hearing Impaired Football in Australia.


DFA aim...

...To assist, facilitate and manage in the best interests of the Deaf footballing community.

...To foster, encourage and promote deaf people's participation and skill development in football.

...To advocate, educate, inform and support the football structure to make it capable of including deaf people within the structure.

...To foster relationships with the Football Federation Australia, State and Federal Government, Deaf and mainstream sporting bodies to support the access requirements and participation of deaf people in football at all levels.

...To provide the members with informative updates and newsletters.

...To promote the game that we love the most!

Current Committee

Founded: 7th January 1983

Executive Members: Raymond Younan and Brian Seymour.

Life Members: Paul Burrows (deceased), Wendy and Graham Home, Jeff Moir, Daryl Jordan, Brian Seymour .

Click here to download our executives history.

Get Involved!

bottom of page